‘Summer’ solstice tour

DSC_0042

It was the summer solstice over the weekend and what better way of celebrating the longest day then by heading into North Wales on a two day tour.  I was dropped off at Conwy and after a light snack at the RSPB reserve, I set off for Conwy.  Taking the country lanes, I cycles through the castle in Conwy and headed to Rowen.

Rowen is a small town of the Conwy Estuary.  Not having studied the map properly, I didn’t realise that I would be heading up the steepest road I’ve ever seen (think first gear in a car..), and it was the first time in 8 years, I’ve pushed a bike up a road climb.  Oh the shame (to be fair, I did chat to a couple of horse riders and they said it was too steep for their horses!).

The climb continued and I finally topped on to a green lane, taking me to an old Roman road to the base of Drum.  It was here, after an hours worth of riding that I witnessed my first walkers, both giving a cheery hello.  The weather was rubbish, strong headwinds and threatening clouds above.  On the first descent of the day, I let go of the brakes and nothing happened, the wind was so strong that I head to peddle down hill.  Little did I realise, this was the theme for the remainder of the day.

DSC_0043

 I continued down, slowly gathering momentum whilst fighting back the tears from my eyes, I always suffer from my eyes streaming on descents no-matter what glasses I wear but when the wind was this strong, glasses or no glassed made very little difference.  I entered into the Rhaedr Valley taking me to the infamous Rhaedr Falls (also known as Aber Falls).  At the time, I didn’t realise that push-bikes weren’t allowed in this area, so I pushed on towards the Falls and onto the far side of the valley.

DSC_0044

The valley was now quiet and I didn’t witness a sole until Bethesda.  The riding was enjoyable but the headwind had slowed me to walking speed (I must point out that I was on a singlespeed) and progress was taking its time.  I followed some farm-land tracks into the valley, carefully riding past a field of cows and making a swift exit through the gates.  From now until Ogwen valley, it was all road miles and for the first time that day, a managed to get some speed up (or at least, until I could spin out my 32×18).

DSC_0046

It was bleak, but the wind was behind me and I motored along the road.  I eventually reached Capel Curig in 5 hours completing 1200M of climbing in 50KM.  Café Siabod was my port of call and a large Lasagne, garlic bread and extra chips was ordered, followed by a few pints in Plas-y-Brenin.

I thought the first day was bleak, but two day was incredible.  Strong headwinds and terrible rain.  My Arc’teryx Beta (reviewed earlier on) kept me dry, so I had no excuse but to plough on.  I returned on the Roman road into the Ogwen Valley, but progress was painfully slow.  More than once I had to stop due to the winds for fear of falling off my bike.  Even the descents would see me pedalling down.

Upon reaching Bethesda, I made the decision to follow the coast back to Conwy and avoid going on the tops as I thought it would be too dangerous (and truthfully, miserable too).  It was here that I hooked up to sustrans route 5.  I thought I would follow this for as long as it goes and then start thinking about heading back into the hills.  The route followed along the coast.

Upon turning onto the coast, I had a tailwind.  This allowed me to pedal with ease and head to Conwy with a big grin on my face.  I finally worked out that the route would take me all the way to Prestatyn, 35km down the road.  The waves were crashing against the sea-front but I was making good progress, so I thought I would press on.

DSC_0047

Taking a detour through Llandudno, I followed the cycle path along the coast through Colwyn Bay and onto Rhyl.  From Rhyl, I could see the Nova Centre in Presatyn, where my Dad was waiting to pick me up.  Some 3 miles later, I was back in the warmth of the car having completed some 80KM of riding (mainly on road using a singlespeed mountain bike) and climbed 650M.

In total, I cycled some 130KM in some absolutely foul weather and I was thankfully that  didn’t have to camp at the night.  So, thanks to Jack for letting my stay in the cottage and thanks to my parents for playing ‘taxi’!

One thought on “‘Summer’ solstice tour

Leave a Reply

